LFC Season 2010/2011

10/11 5th place
10/11 Results
10/11 Form
10/11 Table
10/11 Fair Play
10/11 Manager Stats
10/11 Player Stats
10/11 Disipline
10/11 Attendances
10/11 Goalscorers
10/11 Player Assists
10/11 Referees
10/11 Injuries
10/11 Scoring Times
10/11 Challenge Table
10/11 Quick Stats
10/11 Results by Round
10/11 Player Debuts
10/11 1st Team Squad
10/11 Staff List
10/11 Academy Staff
10/11 Academy Squad
10/11 Transfers
10/11 Transfer Rumours
10/11 The last
10/11 TV Coverage
Premiership First's
2011/2012 Results
2009/2010 Season
LFC LFZ2004 Blog
LFC LFZ Twitter


Liverpool v Everton All Time Scorers

The following have scored 4 or more league goals in the Merseyside Derby. This includes FA Premier League matches, its predecessor the Football League First Division, FA Cup, League Cup and Charity Shield. The Screen Sport Super Cup goals are also included for Rush and Sharp, although this was a competition which was not high on Liverpool or Everton's agenda. This list is up to and including 16 Jan 2011.

Nation Player Club(s) League FA Cup League Charity Screen Overall Years
Cup Shield Sport
Wales Ian Rush Liverpool 13 5 1 1 5 25 1980–1987,1988–1996
England Dixie Dean Everton 18 1 19 1925–1937
Scotland Alex Young Everton 9 3 12 1901–1911
England H.Chambers Liverpool 8 8 1915–1928
England J.Settle Everton 8 8 1899–1908
England J.Parkinson Liverpool 6 2 8 1903–1914
England P.Beardsley L/pool/Eve 4/1 2/0 7 1987-91 L, 1991-93 E
Scotland G.Sharp Everton 4 2 1 7 1980–1991
England Jack Balmer Liverpool 6 6 1935–1952
England R.Fowler Liverpool 6 6 1992–01, 2006–07
Scotland B.Parker Everton 6 6 1913–1922
England G.Hodgson Liverpool 5 1 6 1925–1936
Austraila Tim Cahill Everton 5 5 2004–Present
Scotland K.Dalglish Liverpool 5 5 1977–1990
England Fred Howe Liverpool 5 5 1935–1938
Scotland Jack Taylor Everton 5 5 1896–1910
Holland Dirk Kuyt Liverpool 5 5 2006–present
England Roger Hunt Liverpool 4 1 5 1958–1969
England S.Gerrard Liverpool 4 1 5 1997–Present
Scotland D.Ferguson Everton 4 4 1994–98, 2000–06
England T.Lawton Everton 4 4 1936–1939
England M. Owen Liverpool 4 4 1997–2004
England S.Raybould Liverpool 4 4 1900–1907
Wales Roy Vernon Everton 4 4 1960–1965

Current scorers: With his goal in the game at Anfield, 16 January 2011, Liverpool's Dirk Kuyt joined Everton's Tim Cahill as joint-leading scorer in the league (with 5 goals each) of players currently playing for either team. Other current players with derby goals to their credit are Liverpool's Steven Gerrard (who has scored 5 overall, one coming in the FA Cup), and four players (Everton's Mikel Arteta, Sylvain Distin and Jermaine Beckford and Liverpool's Raul Meireles) with 1 goal each. Cahill, Kuyt, Arteta, Distin and Meireles are among a total of 18 non-British (Isles) players from 12 different countries to have scored in the derby (not including own goals, which add 3 countries to the list!) since Liverpool's Jan Molby became the first such player to do so, in 1991 (though Bruce Grobbelaar was the first non-British Isles player to get on the derby scoresheet with his own-goal in the 1984 Charity Shield).

More goals than years: Liverpool's Fred Howe and Everton's Tommy Lawton bear the curious distinctions of scoring more goals than they actually spent in years in the city of Liverpool. Howe scoring five goals in three years and Lawton four goals in three years.

Hat-tricks: The first derby hat-trick was scored by Everton's Alex "Sandy" Young who got 4 in the 1904 5-1 win at Goodison. Other Evertonians to manage hat-ticks include Parker in 1914 and Dixie Dean twice, in 1928 and 1931, the last Everton player to net a treble. Liverpool hat-tricks have come from Chambers (1922), Forshaw (1925), Barton (1933), and Howe (4 goals in 1935). Almost 50 years passed before the next derby hat-trick, scored by Ian Rush, who got 4 in a 5-0 win at Goodison in 1982. Rush also scored 3 in the Super Cup Final first leg in 1986. Curiously, of all the league hat-tricks, only the first (Young's) and so far the last (Rush's) were managed at Goodison: all the others were at Anfield.

Own goals: Sandy Brown's famous own goal in Everton's championship winning 1969-70 season was, amazingly only the second own goal in the history of the fixture, the first having been scored by Balmer (Everton) in 1902. Since then 7 Evertonians have been "credited" with an own-goal, including two in the same match at Anfield in 1972. There have only been 3 Liverpool own goals. Joseph Yobo's unlucky deflection at Goodison in 2009-10 is the most recent of all derby-day own-goals.

Scoring in consecutive matches: Between May and September 1986, Ian Rush scored for Liverpool in 4 consecutive derbies, none of them League games (Cup final, Charity shield and two Super Cup finals). Several players have scored in 3 consecutive games: Hardman (E, 1905–06), Freeman (E, 1909–10), Parkinson (L, 1910–11), King (E, 1978–79), Lineker (E, 1985–86), Barnes (L, 1989–90) and Fowler (L, 1995–96).

Youngest derby goal scorer: Although difficult to verify, since birthdates of early players are not known, the youngest derby goal scorer is probably Everton's Danny Cadamarteri who scored the winner at Anfield 6 days after his 18th birthday, in October 1997.